The best AI TOEFL tools in 2026 — and exactly what we could verify about each
Every other page ranking for this search is a prep company’s list of itself. So is this one, and it says so at the top. The difference is that each fact below is a sentence the provider’s own public page stated, with the URL and the date we read it — and where we could not read a page, we say that instead of guessing.
Read this before the list: we are on it
What we can honestly offer instead of neutrality is checkability. Every quoted sentence names the page it came from and the date we read it, our own row leads with what Reach120 does worse, and the two tools whose pages would not answer us are listed with their error codes rather than left out.
- There is no ranking, no score out of ten and no "winner". The tools are grouped by what each is genuinely best suited to, and the order carries no meaning.
- There are no star ratings anywhere on this page, and none in its structured data. Reach120 has no published review corpus, so a rating would be a number we invented.
- Prices move, and sales move faster. Every price below is what the page showed on 2026-08-06; check the provider before you buy.
How this list was made
- 1The set. Six tools that appear on the searches this page is about, plus Reach120: Reach120, PrepEx, LingoLeap, Magoosh, Arno, TestGlider, Gabble, TOEFL Exam Prep. Two more were attempted and could not be verified — both are named below with what their servers returned.
- 2The read. Each provider’s public pricing or product page was fetched on 2026-08-06 without an account, and only what the page itself stated was recorded. No account was created, nothing was purchased, and no private or paywalled surface was accessed.
- 3The spine. Tools are compared on the six task types the January 2026 format introduced, because that is the one axis with checkable evidence: either a public page names the task or it does not.
- 4The separation. A provider’s own assertion about itself is printed under their name as their claim, never restated by us as fact. Our own claims resolve through Reach120’s published claims ledger.
- 5The refusal. Self-reported user counts, accuracy percentages with no stated method, and any figure we could not re-read on the publication date were left out. That is why some cells say "not stated" rather than something more useful.
The comparison table: 2026 task coverage, free access, metering
Coverage is recorded at two strengths. "Serves it" means the task can be practiced on a page we can link you to directly. "Names it" means the provider’s own page lists that task type by name.
| Tool | Build a SentenceWriting | Write an EmailWriting | Academic DiscussionWriting | Listen & RepeatSpeaking | Take an InterviewSpeaking | Complete the WordsReading |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reach120This site | Serves it — free Build a Sentence practice | Serves it — free Write an Email practice | Serves it — free Academic Discussion practice | Serves it — free Listen & Repeat practice | Serves it — free Take an Interview practice | Serves it — free Complete the Words practice |
| PrepEx | Names it | Names it | Names it | Names it | Names it | Names it |
| LingoLeap | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | Names it | Names it | not stated on the page we read |
| Magoosh | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read |
| Arno | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | Names it | Names it | Names it | Names it |
| TestGlider | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read |
| Gabble | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read | not stated on the page we read |
| TOEFL Exam Prep | Names it | Names it | Names it | Names it | Names it | Names it |
Serves it — the task can be practised on a page linked here. Names it — the provider’s own page lists the task type by name. means the page we read did not say, which is a gap in the evidence and not a finding about the product.
| Tool | Free access, as stated | How AI use is metered |
|---|---|---|
| Reach120 | Reading, Listening and Build a Sentence practice is free with no daily limit and no lifetime limit. Write an Email and Write for an Academic Discussion give a free account 3 AI-scored writing responses to start, then one more each day, up to 10 in total; Take an Interview has 3 AI-scored Take an Interview responses in total, for the life of the account; Listen & Repeat has 8 on the account, for life. Published questions, answers, transcripts, sample responses and PDF packs need no account. | The free tier is metered by measured cost — the three tasks that spend a model on your own words carry daily allowances, Writing and Speaking counted separately because an Interview costs multiples of an essay. A paid pass carries a stated fair-use ceiling rather than an open-ended promise. |
| PrepEx | The homepage states free accounts get "3 daily practice submissions (shared across Writing, Speaking, Reading, and Listening)" with "Full AI grading and feedback on every submission". | Pro is stated as "6,000 Petra credits/month" for the speaking coach; free accounts "get 360 credits monthly". |
| LingoLeap | Not stated on the pricing page as read. The page offers a "Start Free Practice" button without describing what the free tier includes. | Credits, with the price list published: Plus carries "7,500 credits for 3 months" and Premium "15,000 credits for 3 months", against stated costs of 200 credits for one writing evaluation, 100 for a Listen and Repeat session, 200 for a Take an Interview session and 800 for a full practice test. |
| Magoosh | A trial rather than a free tier: "Try Magoosh for 7 days with no commitment". | No credit meter was stated on the page; the AI tutor is described as always available. |
| Arno | The TOEFL page states "free unlimited practice for every 2026 question type" and, in its FAQ, "You can practice every TOEFL question type for free with no limits and no credit card." Mock tests beyond the first and "advanced AI feedback on speaking and writing" are stated to need a subscription. | No credit meter and no per-action cost is stated on the pages we read. The split is stated as free practice against a paid subscription, not as an allowance. |
| TestGlider | The homepage advertises a "TOEFL 2026 Free Mock Test" and "Sign Up and Get One Free TOEFL Mock Test". | Not stated on the page as read. |
| Gabble | A "Trial Pack" listed at "FREE", stating "Limited credits" and "Limited access" alongside "Instant Grading with AI" and "Limited Writing & Speaking Insights". The page states "Free credits on sign-up. No credit card required." What "limited" equals is not stated as a number anywhere we read. Separately, three tools on https://gabble.ai/tools are headed "Try Gabble’s AI-powered tools — no account required": an IELTS band calculator, a TOEFL score calculator and a college finder. | Credits, with no published per-action cost: the free pack states "Limited credits" and both paid packs state "Unlimited credits". There is no price list to work an allowance against. |
| TOEFL Exam Prep | A free diagnostic rather than a free tier, and it is unusually open: "Free · 10 minutes · No signup form", running "short forms of the real tasks in all four sections" and returning "an estimated band for each section, your weakest task types, and a study plan built from your result". The page states you "see your result before paying anything". | No credit meter and no per-action cost is stated. The FAQ states every plan includes "unlimited AI grading for both Speaking and Writing"; the tiers differ by access duration — 7 days, 3 months, 1 year — rather than by volume. |
The six tools, with the sentence each page actually stated
Each card carries the same five things: what the tool is best suited to, what its page states about price and the free tier, how it meters AI use, the provider’s own claims marked as theirs, and what it does better than Reach120.
Reach120Our own product
Best suited to: free 2026-format practice with the questions and answers published on the page
Price, as the page stated it
- Exam passes are one-time and do not auto-renew; the current prices are on the pricing page, which this page reads rather than restates.
Free access, as stated
How AI use is metered
2026 task coverage — what the evidence shows
Where Reach120 is weaker
Check before you buy
PrepEx
Best suited to: the most free AI-graded submissions per day, and test-fee bundling
Price, as the page stated it
Withdrawn on 2026-08-20. This page re-reads every provider’s price every 14 days, and PrepEx’s was last read on 2026-08-06, so the figures are no longer published here rather than shown stale.
PrepEx pricing page states the current price.
Free access, as stated
How AI use is metered
2026 task coverage — what the evidence shows
Their claim, not ours
- "PrepEx is the first platform with complete practice for all new TOEFL 2026 question types."
- "Ready for TOEFL 2026 with all new task types."
Quoted because the provider states it. Reach120 has not verified any of it and does not restate it as fact.
What PrepEx does better than Reach120
Check before you buy
LingoLeap
Best suited to: knowing exactly what each AI evaluation costs before you spend it
Price, as the page stated it
Withdrawn on 2026-08-20. This page re-reads every provider’s price every 14 days, and LingoLeap’s was last read on 2026-08-06, so the figures are no longer published here rather than shown stale.
LingoLeap pricing page states the current price.
Free access, as stated
How AI use is metered
2026 task coverage — what the evidence shows
What LingoLeap does better than Reach120
Check before you buy
Magoosh
Best suited to: a taught course with lessons, and the most generous refund terms in this set
Price, as the page stated it
Withdrawn on 2026-08-20. This page re-reads every provider’s price every 14 days, and Magoosh’s was last read on 2026-08-06, so the figures are no longer published here rather than shown stale.
Magoosh TOEFL plans page states the current price.
Free access, as stated
How AI use is metered
2026 task coverage — what the evidence shows
Their claim, not ours
- "All Magoosh lessons are aligned with the 2026 TOEFL."
- "We guarantee after completing our premium program, you’ll see a +4 point increase over your old score, or we’ll give you all of your money back."
Quoted because the provider states it. Reach120 has not verified any of it and does not restate it as fact.
What Magoosh does better than Reach120
Check before you buy
Arno
Best suited to: preparing for more than one English exam in one place, with a free tier its own page describes as unlimited
Price, as the page stated it
Withdrawn on 2026-08-20. This page re-reads every provider’s price every 14 days, and Arno’s was last read on 2026-08-06, so the figures are no longer published here rather than shown stale.
Arno TOEFL page states the current price.
Free access, as stated
How AI use is metered
2026 task coverage — what the evidence shows
Their claim, not ours
- "Arno is fully updated for the January 2026 TOEFL iBT® overhaul."
- "Our AI is trained on the new 2026 scoring rubrics so your practice scores reflect the real test."
- "No other TOEFL platform gives you this much for free while offering such powerful premium features."
Quoted because the provider states it. Reach120 has not verified any of it and does not restate it as fact.
What Arno does better than Reach120
Check before you buy
TestGlider
Best suited to: a free full-length 2026 mock test at signup
Price, as the page stated it
Withdrawn on 2026-08-20. This page re-reads every provider’s price every 14 days, and TestGlider’s was last read on 2026-08-06, so the figures are no longer published here rather than shown stale.
TestGlider homepage states the current price.
Free access, as stated
How AI use is metered
2026 task coverage — what the evidence shows
Their claim, not ours
- "Sign Up and Get One Free TOEFL Mock Test."
Quoted because the provider states it. Reach120 has not verified any of it and does not restate it as fact.
What TestGlider does better than Reach120
Check before you buy
Gabble
Best suited to: preparing for the IELTS and the TOEFL test in one account, with three tools open to anyone
Price, as the page stated it
Withdrawn on 2026-08-20. This page re-reads every provider’s price every 14 days, and Gabble’s was last read on 2026-08-06, so the figures are no longer published here rather than shown stale.
Gabble TOEFL prep page, which carries its price table states the current price.
Free access, as stated
How AI use is metered
2026 task coverage — what the evidence shows
Their claim, not ours
- "Score higher on TOEFL® iBT with AI." and, on the same page, "iBT 2026 · Format covered".
- "Integrated & Independent Writing feedback — Both writing task types are fully supported."
- "Get graded on Delivery, Language Use, and Topic Development immediately after you finish."
Quoted because the provider states it. Reach120 has not verified any of it and does not restate it as fact.
What Gabble does better than Reach120
Check before you buy
TOEFL Exam Prep
Best suited to: a free four-section diagnostic that returns an estimated band with no signup form
Price, as the page stated it
Withdrawn on 2026-08-20. This page re-reads every provider’s price every 14 days, and TOEFL Exam Prep’s was last read on 2026-08-06, so the figures are no longer published here rather than shown stale.
TOEFL Exam Prep pricing page states the current price.
Free access, as stated
How AI use is metered
2026 task coverage — what the evidence shows
Their claim, not ours
- "All practice tasks and mock tests are built for the official 2026 TOEFL format — new task types and 1–6 band scoring."
- "All plans include unlimited AI grading for both Speaking and Writing, with detailed feedback aligned with the ETS 1–6 band rubrics."
- "The TOEFL changed in January 2026. Most prep didn’t."
Quoted because the provider states it. Reach120 has not verified any of it and does not restate it as fact.
What TOEFL Exam Prep does better than Reach120
Check before you buy
The thing no other list on this search does: run one now
A roundup can describe AI scoring for two thousand words and still leave you unable to judge it. Write a response to the live Academic Discussion prompt below and you get the full report — an estimated band, every rubric dimension and the reasoning — with no account, no card and no email. It is the same report a signed-in learner gets, not a preview of one.
Discussion Topic
Online Learning
Online learning encompasses education that is delivered via the internet, allowing students to study from any location. This form of learning has become increasingly popular due to advancements in technology and the need for flexible educational solutions, especially highlighted during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Professor's Question
What is your opinion on the effectiveness of online learning compared to traditional in-person classes? Provide reasons for your perspective.
No account, no card, no email. One scored response per day. Scores are produced by an automated rater against the ETS rubric and are Reach120 estimates, not official ETS scores.
What we could not verify on 2026-08-06
3 tools we intended to include are absent from the table. Our own rule is that a competitor price may not be republished without re-reading that page on the day of publication, so a page we cannot read means no row rather than an older figure quietly reused. One of the rows below is absent for the other half of that same rule rather than for the first: we did eventually find a readable page, but it was read on a later date than every row in the table above, and one fresh row does not refresh a table. Its evidence is published on the comparison pages, dated to the day it was actually read.
| Tool | What happened |
|---|---|
| BestMyTest | The pricing page answered HTTP 403 to our request on 2026-08-06. We hold older readings, and our own rule forbids republishing a price we could not re-verify today, so no BestMyTest figure appears here. |
| DoublePrep | The page answered HTTP 200 on 2026-08-06 and contained thirteen characters of readable text: its pricing, its TOEFL page and its homepage all return the same shell and assemble themselves in the browser. Nothing about the product is stated in what a request actually receives, so nothing about it is stated here. |
| AI Tutor Santa | The domain did not resolve on 2026-08-06 — no address record for it or for its www host — and re-checking it on 2026-08-24 left that finding standing: the apex still publishes no address record, and www now resolves but fails TLS with an expired certificate. What changed is that a third host, https://shop.aitutorsanta.com/, answered HTTP 200 in English and takes payment, so there IS a product here to compare and it is compared at /vs/santa-ai-toefl. It is absent from the table above for the other half of the same rule: that shop was read on 2026-08-24 and every row in the table was read on 2026-08-06, and one fresh row does not refresh a table. |
ETS’s own preparation products are a deliberate omission of a different kind. They are the official option and no third-party tool replaces them, but Reach120 is independent of ETS and does not reproduce ETS prices or product details in its own commercial comparisons. Read those on ETS’s site directly.
How to choose between them without trusting anybody’s list
- 1Test the free tier on the task you are worst at. Free tiers differ far more than paid tiers do, and the task you avoid is the one that decides your band.
- 2Ask where the score came from. If a tool cannot tell you what produced the number and how far off it typically is, the number is a model’s opinion of a number.
- 3Check the format, not the marketing. Open a writing task: if you are shown an Integrated or an Independent essay, you are practicing the test that was retired on January 21, 2026.
- 4Read the meter, not the headline price. A credit allowance divided by what one evaluation costs is the real volume you are buying.
- 5Prefer what you can see without paying. A tool that publishes its questions, answers and transcripts is one you can evaluate before spending anything.
- What "TOEFL AI" actually means in 2026
The category explainer: the engines ETS uses to score the real test, what a practice tool can do, and what none of them can.
- Free TOEFL writing checker
The rubric, the method and the limits written out, with the same scorer as the box above.
- Free writing practice for all three 2026 tasks
Build a Sentence, Write an Email and Write for an Academic Discussion, each with a drill and a full guide.
- Free practice tests
Full four-section mocks, scored as soon as you finish rather than returned in a day or two.
- Ungated PDF packs
Practice packs, prompt banks and a complete 2026 practice test, with no email gate.
- How Reach120 works out a band
The method behind our own row, including what is computed in code and what is still unproven.
Choosing an AI TOEFL tool: common questions
- What is the best AI tool for TOEFL preparation in 2026?
- There is no single answer, and any page that gives you one is selling something — this one included, which is why it does not. On the evidence gathered here: PrepEx states the largest free daily AI-graded allowance, Magoosh offers a taught course and the most generous refund, LingoLeap publishes the cost of every individual evaluation, Arno covers several exams at once, TestGlider gives a free full-length 2026 mock at signup, and Reach120 publishes its questions, answers and transcripts free and uncapped in Reading and Listening. Match that to the task you are worst at.
- Is this list independent?
- No. Reach120 wrote it and Reach120 is on it, which is stated at the top of the page rather than in a footnote. Every page currently ranking for this search is a prep company’s list of itself; ours differs by sourcing each fact to the provider’s own page with a read date, by leading its own entry with what it does worse, and by publishing the tools it could not verify instead of dropping them.
- Are there free AI TOEFL tools that actually score your writing?
- Yes, several, with different limits. PrepEx’s homepage states three daily practice submissions shared across all four sections with AI grading on each. Reach120 gives a free account 3 AI-scored writing responses to start, then one more each day, up to 10 in total across Write an Email and Academic Discussion, and 3 AI-scored Take an Interview responses in total, for the life of the account on Take an Interview, keeps Reading and Listening free with no cap, and lets you run one scored response on this page without an account. Trials such as Magoosh’s seven days are a different thing from a free tier — they end.
- Can an AI tool tell me my real TOEFL score?
- No. No third party has access to ETS’s scoring engines, so every number a prep tool shows you is an estimate produced by its own model against its own rubric. A good tool tells you the size of its typical error; treat any tool claiming to be calibrated to ETS as making a claim that cannot be verified by anyone.
- Why does the table say "not stated" so often?
- Because the page we read did not name that task type. Filling the cell in from a general claim like "fully updated for 2026" would be us inventing evidence on the provider’s behalf, which is the practice this page exists to avoid. It records what was stated, not what exists.
- How current are these prices?
- Each provider’s page was re-read on 2026-08-06 and the date is printed on every card. Sale prices in particular move within days — Magoosh was mid-sale when we read it. Our own rule is that a competitor price may never be republished without re-verifying that page on the day of publication, so when this page is refreshed the figures are re-fetched rather than carried over.
- Do you rate or rank these tools?
- No, and there is no rating markup in this page’s structured data either. Ratings require a review corpus we do not have, and a self-published rating on a list you appear on is exactly the pattern that makes these pages untrustworthy. The tools are grouped by what each suits; the order means nothing.
- What does the 2026 format change about choosing a tool?
- Since January 21, 2026, the Writing section is Build a Sentence, Write an Email and Write for an Academic Discussion, Speaking includes Listen & Repeat and Take an Interview, and Reading includes Complete the Words. A tool still drilling Integrated and Independent essays is practicing a retired test, which is why task coverage rather than price is this table’s spine.